Oath Ceremony

Convert this page to a PDF

Every Member of the Legislative Assembly is required under Section 24 of the Constitution Act to take and subscribe to the oath of allegiance prior to sitting or voting in the House. A Member who conscientiously declines the taking of an oath may make a solemn affirmation or declaration instead. Members are also required to sign the parliamentary roll.

The Clerk of the Legislative Assembly administers the oath/affirmation to duly elected Members at a ceremony after the return of the writs. Family members are welcome to attend the event and a photographer will be present. You may bring your own bible or other holy book for the occasion if you prefer, and cameras are permitted.

The oath is as follows:

I, A.B., swear that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, [or her successor], her heirs and successors, according to law. So help me God.


Last Updated: May 11, 2017